My Summertime Bucket List

Even though we are now well into summer, I’m creating a bucket list of things I would like to do before Labor Day. If you have read my previous posts, you know I was born and raised in Richmond. Some of these things on my bucket list I hate to admit I have never done, but hey, there is no time better than the present.

The first thing I would like to do is take a Riverfront Canal Cruise. Not only does it seem relaxing, but the views are amazing. Not to mention, the historical aspect of this tour is also very interesting. Secondly, I want to take another Discover the James Bald Eagle Tour. Now this I have done, but it was an abbreviated tour and very chilly out. The eagles were truly beautiful and there are even more now than when I went originally.

Next, and this is the one I hate to admit, I’d like to go to a reenactment at St. John’s Church. I have been to the church several times and worked events where the attendees got to see the reenactment, but I myself have never had the pleasure. I have heard nothing but good things about this and how it is such a moving experience.  I’m ready to cheer on Patrick Henry and the other founding fathers as they decide the fate of our country!

I’d also like to go to both the Carytown Watermelon Festival and the Richmond Jazz Festival at Maymont.  Aside from the watermelon, Carytown also has great places to eat and awesome boutiques to shop in. I could definitely spend an entire day there. The Richmond Jazz Festival features international acts like India Arie, George Benson and more at such a wonderful venue!

Last, but definitely not least, I want to take my pup to Pony Pasture, a great little escape on the James River where you can enjoy the rapids or sun on the rocks in the middle of the water. I have been there before as a child and loved it. I thought about taking him there last year, but he is a little too personable. I hope he has grown out of that phase and doesn’t try and talk to everyone.

Of course, there are several other things I’d like to do this summer, way too many to name here, but you get the idea. I’ll make sure to keep you updated on my progress. Do you have anything for your summer bucket list?

Stephanie Kenney is a Marketing Coordinator at RMCVB. Born and raised in Richmond, Stephanie now lives in Glen Allen with her husband, Criss and dog, Bo. She enjoys playing darts and poker in her spare time.

2 thoughts on “My Summertime Bucket List

  1. Awsome. So good to find you have such a good finger on the pulse of RIchmond and events here. Will try to catch up on these myself. Those this summber am planning to do more driving, exploring Virginia . :) Let’s see.

Leave a Reply

